RSS

Trifecta Meme

06 Jan

The folks over at http://trifectawritingchallenge.com have a wonderful community going and have set up a Meme to learn more about their community members.  I’m new to the site, but I’m glad to be there and figured I could use this as a way to introduce myself.

  1. What is your name (real or otherwise)?  F.T. Murphy
  2. Describe your writing style in three words. Honest, Passionate, Cathartic 
  3. How long have you been writing online?  I’ve been sharing my writing on my personal facebook page for a few years, but this is my first venture into blogging and sharing my writing exclusively.  I started my Blog at the beginning of this year (2013).
  4. Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in? This is the first I’ve found that I wanted to participate in, but I’m sure I will find more as I get more experience with the blogging world.
  5. Describe one way in which you could improve your writing?  I feel like right now the thing I’m missing most is scholarship.  I have ideas that are very abstract, which is fine, but I want them based in the concrete knowledge of history and literature and I feel like my scholarship in many areas is limited.  I’m in school currently though and am surrounded by knowledge and culture. It can only increase from here.
  6. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?  Never hide anything from your Muse.  Complete honesty is the key to powerful, effective writing.
  7. Who is your favorite author?  I’ll go with a poet, Allen Ginsberg.
  8. How do you make time to write?  As a student, I end up writing often. Unfortunately, it is usually for an assignment and there is not much time for personal reading or writing. I try to dedicate the hour or two before bed to my personal reading or writing.  I prefer to write in the evening, so that works out for me.  I’m a night owl.  I don’t get to do personal writing every day during the semester, but I keep in practice with writing assignments (some of which allow for creativity or even poetry) and make time for my personal work as many evenings as possible.
  9. Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.  Natural.  It has an interesting third definition that could go a lot of different ways.
  10. Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.  I guess if the goal in this is to get to know each other a little, I better point you to this one:
    https://intentionallyft.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/friends-how-did-we-let-it-get-this-far/
    It is mildly vulgar, just to warn you, but I think it illustrates a part of my experience that greatly informs my writing: my time in Juvenile detention.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!!!!!

 
