RSS
Aside
05 Feb

Hello, little path.
I thought to myself, to steady my nerves.
Darkness lay before me
the path: narrow, dirt and iceplant
all crunch and wet-squeek underfoot.
Above, dark clouds obscured by
dark branches of coastal oak
who lichen shawls brush,
soft as spiders webs
across my face,
invisible in the darkness.

Hello, little bush
in the middle of my path
obscured by night
jabbing defensive branchs
into my ankles.
I dodge your vague shape
on the lookout now
for your siblings.

Hello, dead end.
No shame in turning back.
To have tried the path and failed
to discover a new avenue
through this coastal oak maze.
Though, suddenly overcomb
I decide to sit, in darkness.
This path is so familiar.

This path, this path
this dark and fruitless path
fraught with perilous bushes,
hanging, ghost-finger lichen,
and now,
with eyes in the darkness
eyes on every side
Impossible, luminous, green eyes.
I sit, unmoving.
I breathe steadily, unafraid.
I clap my hands loudly, once
the luminous green lights extinguish.
I rise and walk slowly
Ignoring the caresses of ghosts
avoiding the jabbing of fingers
extinguishing floating green lights
with a clap.

I emerge, right back where I started
And that’s just fine.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This is an entry in the Trifecta Writing Challenge at trifectawritingchallenge.com

Night Walk

 
19 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Night Walk

  1. deanabo

    February 5, 2013 at 5:04 am

    This is really good writing!

     
  2. Katie

    February 5, 2013 at 5:20 am

    I really like this, well done.

     
  3. Bee (@LivingOffScript)

    February 5, 2013 at 5:26 am

    Excellent imagery!

     
  4. Annabelle

    February 5, 2013 at 6:36 am

    Great imagery here, and I liked the peace of coming out where you started off despite the detour.

     
  5. themisanthropicmuse

    February 5, 2013 at 7:18 am

    The imagery is spot on. Good job.

     
  6. Draug419

    February 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    It’s good that it came full circle like that (: If only all choices led to a similarly familiar and comfortable path.

     
  7. kz

    February 5, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    very well-written and great choice of words..

     
  8. dani

    February 6, 2013 at 3:07 am

    LOVE this! perfect ending!
    β™₯

     
  9. jannatwrites

    February 6, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Ending up right back where we started isn’t is bad as being lost in the woods πŸ™‚

     
  10. KymmInBarcelona

    February 7, 2013 at 6:00 am

    Love the first stanza, greeting the path. Nice.

     
  11. atrm61

    February 7, 2013 at 10:38 am

    Loved the imagery-I could literally see those things & that bit about green eyes was eerie yet fascinating-reminded me of fire flies:-)Great poem.

     

Tell me what you think!!!!!

 
